Governing Bodies | Memberships

ZIF is a non-profit company with limited liability. Sole shareholder is the Federal Republic of Germany represented by the Foreign Office. Its Supervisory Board is composed of parliamentary undersecretaries from the foreign, defense, development and interior ministries and one MP from each of the parliamentary groups in the Bundestag. An international Advisory Board supports and oversees the work of ZIF. The Center's director is Dr. Almut Wieland-Karimi.

Supervisory Board

ZIF's Supervisory Board members for the last legislative period have been:

  • Michael Roth (Chairperson of the Supervisory Board) | MP | State Minister | Federal Foreign Office
  • Dr. Emily Haber (Deputy Chairperson of the Supervisory Board) | State Secretary | Federal Ministry of the Interior (BMI)
  • Thomas Silberhorn | MP | Parliamentary State Secretary | Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)
  • Dr. Ralf Brauksiepe | MP | Parliamentary State Secretary | Federal Ministry of Defense (BMVg)
  • Michael Vietz | MP | German Bundestag, CDU/CSU Parliamentary Group
  • Tom Koenigs | MP | German Bundestag, Bündnis 90 / Die Grünen Parliamentary Group
  • Dr. Alexander Neu | MP | German Bundestag, Die Linke Parliamentary Group
  • Dr. Bärbel Kofler | MP | German Bundestag, SPD Parliamentary Group

The International Advisory Board of the ZIF

  • Jonas Alberoth (Chairperson of the Advisory Board) | Deputy Director-General | Folke Bernadotte Academy, Stockholm (Sweden)
  • Lt. General Erich Pfeffer (Deputy Chairperson of the Advisory Board) | Commander | Bundeswehr Operations Command, Schwielowsee (Germany)
  • Yvonne Akpasom | Head of Unit "Peace and Security" | GIZ Support Programme to the ECOWAS Commission, Abuja (Nigeria)
  • Dr. Alhaji Sarjoh Bah | Head "Crisis Management & Post-Conflict Reconstruction Division (CMPCRD)" | Peace and Security Department, African Union (AU), Addis Ababa (Ethiopia)
  • Dr. Christoph Beier | Vice-Chair, Management Board | Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, Eschborn/Berlin (Germany)
  • Luis Carrilho | United Nations Police Adviser | Department of Peacekeeping Operations, New York (USA)
  • Anthony Duncker | Deputy Director | Field Personnel Specialist Support Service, UN Department of Field Support (DFS), New York (USA)
  • Manuel Eising | Civilian Expert, Member of ZIF Expert Roster, currently seconded to the OSCE Secretariat in Vienna (Austria)
  • General Griffiths Evans | Commander | Kofi Annan International Peacekeeping Training Centre (KAIPTC), Accra (Ghana)
  • Ingibjörg Sólrún Gísladóttir | Director | OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR), Warsaw (Poland)
  • David Haeri | Director "Policy, Evaluation & Training" | United Nations Departments for Peacekeeping Operations and Field Support (UN DPKO/DFS), New York (USA)
  • Brigadier General Oliver Kohl | Commandant| Bundeswehr Command and Staff College, Hamburg (Germany)
  • Dr. Brigitte Lammers | Partner | Egon Zehnder International GmbH, Berlin (Germany)
  • Helga Schmid | Secretary-General | European External Action Service (EEAS), Brussels (Belgium)
  • Cornelia Schneider | Civilian Expert, Member of the ZIF Expert Roster, currently Senior Adviser to the SRSG, UN Mission in Kosovo (UNMIK)
  • Bernd Mützelburg (Honorary Member) | Ambassador ret., former Special Envoy for Afghanistan / Pakistan | Federal Foreign Office, Berlin (Germany)


As of June 2018


The Shareholders’ Meeting is attended by representatives of the pertinent divisions of the Federal Foreign Office.